The Tearoom was opened in 1923 and remained open until 2009 when it was closed for a couple of years.
Thankfully Csaba & Veronica Brünner took it upon themselves to reopen the historic tearoom (which you might have seen in the movie 39 steps) and turn it back into the quaint little place it is today.
It is still a great stop of place for a tea and a fabulous homemade cake and also well known now for the superb food they could offer.
The Tea Room was built in 1923, it’s enviable place in local tradition and history was further cemented by the Royal visit to the village of Queen Victoria who had heard stories about ‘Muckle Kate’ a local Brig o’Turk legend.
The Tea Room was made famous in the 1959 version of the film ‘The 39 Steps’ with Kenneth More. Visitors flocked to the tearoom after it was released.
The Tea Room is almost an institution, has been here for years and is well known by cyclists and walkers, locals, tourist and all who had spread the word of they experience after they visit.